Ravel Remembered (Composers Remembered Series)

By: Nichols, Roger

Price: $7.95

Quantity: 1 available

Book Condition: Very Good

More Description

Composers Remembered is an absorbing series of personal recollections and reminiscences of major composers from the seventeenth century to the present day. The memoirs of relatives, friends, and fellow musicians are gathered from letters, diaries, and published sources to give a unique overview of each composer's personality, life, and times. Each volume includes a chronology of related historical and cultural events that provocatively places the subject within the spirit of the times.

In Ravel Remembered, the composer of some of the best-loved music in the orchestral repertoire -- including such favorites as La Valse, Daphnis and Chloe, and Bolero -- is examined. The common view of Maurice Ravel as a cold and retiring personality was not supported by his friends, as Roger Nichols demonstrates. His book is a delightful melange of illuminating accounts of the man and his music by those who knew him best, among them Stravinsky, Cocteau, Colette, Poulenc, and Manuel de Falla.

Title: Ravel Remembered (Composers Remembered Series)

Author/Composer: Nichols, Roger

Categories: Music Topics,

Publisher: Faber & Faber: 1987-07

ISBN Number: 0571149863

ISBN Number 13: 9780571149865

Binding: Paperback

Book Condition: Very Good

Jacket Condition: No Jacket

Type: Paperback

Seller ID: 004807

Description: Very Good Plus Condition: Unmarked. Tight binding. Minor cover wear. Composers remembered series. Free shipping on domestic orders $25 and over!